25.4.2012.

Map circa 1925 showing the majority of the townlands of the Roe Valley.

Note the route of the old railway running from Dungiven to Limavady via Drumsurn and thence to Limavady Junction to join the main line Derry- Belfast.
Please take opportunity to download and print the townlands map (it will print approx A4 size) as the names of these old places will soon be lost in a digital world of post and zip codes and anyone who may find old references to their family history will be left wondering where these unique place names were on a more modern map. Note all the townlands are marked and some of the old print has faded but where practible these will be noted and names clarified in list added to in time ahead.
The other link is to a PDF file (again printable) listing the townlands of counties Antrim, Derry, Tyrone, Fermanagh, Armagh and Down.


Upper and Lower Drumneecy and Straw townlands are to the left of Derryork townland on map in vicinity of Bovevagh church about 4 miles north of Dungiven on the Dungiven-Limavady road. Straw townland is on the west bank of the Roe close to Burnfoot village. Lower Drumneecy as the name suggests is on the east bank of the river on lower ground and Upper Drumneecy on higher ground. Straw town land name is derived from the Irish strath meaning a flat flood plain which it indeed is.
To the center left of the map to the right of Altahullion Hill is Killibleught and Gortnaghy.